National Alumnus of the Year

Honoring Outstanding Alumni at the National Level

Mighty oaks from little acorns grow…

The National Alumnus of the Year Award features an acorn, a reminder that Scouts and Scouters plant trees under which they may never sit.

It is in that vein that the award was created as it recognizes those that promote and share the gift of Scouting through their careers, avocations, and their influence.

The National Alumnus of the Year Award is different than other awards in Scouting as it does not simply recognize the individual for being a distinguished person or honor those giving time and energy to the BSA as a volunteer leader; Scouting already has awards that do that.

It is more of a combination between the two.

Primary consideration (80%) is given to those that:

  • Remind Scouting alumni to maintain a lifetime relationship with Scouting, which enables Scouting to remain healthy for future generations.
  • Scouting promotion, contributing significantly to the promotion and/or advancement of the BSA alumni program and activities at a Council level over a sustained period of time through word and/or deed.
  • Bring Scouting Alumni back to the Campfire.

Secondary consideration (20%) is given to:

  • Career and/or avocation, such as achieving high honor or distinction in their chosen profession.
  • Community service, including contributions to Scouting or other community efforts or organizations.

How to Get the Award

  • Nominees must be a BSA alumnus – which means he or she has been positively and personally impacted by the BSA in some way.
  • A maximum of one recipient may be awarded per year.
  • The nomination is not to be submitted posthumously.
  • Nominations are submitted to the BSA Alumni Association electronically to by December 31 of the preceding year.
  • The Awards and Recognition subcommittee of the BSA Alumni Association then convenes a selection committee to select the Honorees.
  • Presentation typically happens at the BSA National Annual Meeting.

Nomination Form

National Alumnus of the Year Nomination Form

Recognition Items

  • Plaque
  • Medal
  • Lapel pin with removable device
  • Knot device is available for those who earned the Alumni Award (Knot, No. 611866).

National Alumnus of the Year Award Recipients

YearNameNSTRegionCouncil Name
2011John M. CoughlinNERWestchester-Putnam Council
2012Glenn A. Adams8SRLonghorn Council
2013Dr. David Lloyd Briscoe8SRQuapaw Area Council
2014Richard P. Bragga15SRHeart of Virginia Council
2015Edward A. Pease9NERCrossroads of America Council
2017Dr. Robert M. Gates
2018Joseph L. Weingarten9CRCrossroads of America Council
2019Todd R. Plotner9CRMichigan Crossroads Council
2020Russell Hoke Smart15SRBlue Ridge Council
2021Randy L. Potts15Coastal Carolina Council
2022Lou Paulson3Golden Gate Area Council
2023Ian Romaine, Ph.D.14Middle Tennessee Council