Territory Alumnus of the Year Award

Mighty oaks from little acorns grow…

The Territories Alumnus of the Year Award features an acorn, a reminder that Scouts and Scouters plant trees under which they may never sit.

It is in that vein that the award was created as it recognizes those that promote and share the gift of Scouting through their careers, avocations, and their influence.

The Territories Alumnus of the Year Award is different than other awards in Scouting as it does not simply recognize the individual for being a distinguished person or honor those giving time and energy to the BSA as a volunteer leader; Scouting already has awards that do that. It is more of a combination between the two.


Primary consideration (80%) is given to those that:

  • Remind Scouting alumni to maintain a lifetime relationship with Scouting, which enables Scouting to remain healthy for future generations.
  • Scouting promotion, contributing significantly to the promotion and/or advancement of the BSA alumni program and activities at a Council over a sustained period-of-time through word and/or deed.
  • Bring Scouting Alumni back to the Campfire.

Secondary consideration
(20%)  is given to:

  • Career and/or avocation, such as achieving high honor or distinction in their chosen profession.
  • Community service, including contributions to Scouting or other community efforts or organizations.

How to Get the Award

  • Nominees must be a BSA alumnus – which means he or she has been positively and personally impacted by the BSA in some way.
  • A maximum of one recipient may be awarded per grouping of Territories per year. The groupings are currently:
    o CST 1, 2, & 3
    o CST 4, 5, 6, & 9
    o CST 7, 8, 14, 15, & 16
    o CST 10, 11, 12, & 13
  • The nomination is not to be submitted posthumously.
  • Nominations are submitted to the BSA Alumni Association electronically to bsa.alumni@scouting.org by December 31 of the preceding year.
  • The Awards and Recognition subcommittee of the BSA Alumni Association then convenes a selection committee to select the Honorees.


Item Description and Uniform Placement

Certificate, Lapel Pin and Orange ribbon with medal.

Territory Alumnus of the Year Award Recipients

TerritoryRegionYearCouncil NameName
6CR2018Pathway to AdventureDr. Brad L. Epstein
6CR2017Pathway to AdventureTodd R. Plotner
NER2017Knox TrailPeter P. Casey
10NER2018Greater Hudson ValleyWilliam R. Grogg
15SR2017Heart of VirginiaRichard Paul Bragga
7SR2018Alamo AreaCol. James H. Lynch
3WR2017Silicon Valley Monterey BayRichard M. Brenner
1WR2018Chief SeattleWilliam C. Larson
6CR2019Potawatomi AreaLucien L. Van Elsen
12NER2019Del-Mar-VaR. Clifford Berg, Jr.
14SR2019Middle TennesseeIan M. Romaine, Ph.D.
3WR2019Redwood EmpireDouglas R. McDonald
9CR2020Michigan CrossroadsJay S. Bottorff
13NER2020Minsi TrailsArnold F. Traupman
15SR2020Coastal CarolinaRandy L. Potts
2WR2020MontanaCharles S. Eubank
6CR2021Pathway to AdventureJoseph M. Kruzan, Jr.
11NER2021Connecticut RiversWilliam E. Johnston
15SR2021Blue RidgeMichael Lawrence Thompson
3WR2021Orange CountyJeffrey Evan Bozanic
32022Greater Los AngelesRoss Arnold
92022Michigan CrossroadsDavid M. Ehrlich
142022Blue GrassTimothy C. Brown
122022Baltimore AreaJay Lenrow
22023Crossroads of the WestJared Olschewski
42023Hawkeye AreaBruce Hamous
152023Old HickoryBradley Taylor
132023Minsi TrailsWilliam J. Kropa
162024Central FloridaWilliam T. Litton
22024Greater ColoradoKeel L. Ross
62024Pathway to AdventureDr. Spencer A. Long
132024SusquehannaKaylene D. Trick

Note: Prior to 2022, awards were awarded per Region. Since 2022, awards are awarded by Territory. The indicated territory is as of the year earned and may not represent current territory to council alignment.